Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

On the Road: Hybrid vs. Plywood

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by TVDave, Jan 30, 2006.

1. TVDave

TVDave

Sep 14, 2005
    I'm looking to replace my Cremona before it caves in (the bass bar is going...) I'm new to upright (4 years) and I've been reading this forum trying to learn as much as possible before my next bass purchase, and have tried a number of basses over the past couple months. I mostly play pizz, but want to learn to do more Arco. (and don't worry, I have a couple teachers lined up to help.)

I really like the sound and look of the hybrid Shen SB180, but keep feeling like a plywood (Eastman, Christopher, or even a Shen SB80) would be more durable for hauling to shows.

I have a few gigs a month at clubs, and then a week or two on the road each year. Bass gets piled into a van, stuff gets stacked and pushed. I'm in Minnesota so Bass gets cold, bass gets warm....I try to take care, but a little wear and tear seems unavoidable.

I'm mostly worried about cracks. Will the hybrid be durable enough for touring, or should I stick with the ply and save the cash? Or should I just go all out and get a nice ply like the New Standard Cleveland, and make that my bass for life?

I'm hoping to make up my mind soon. Any thoughts on this would be appreciated!

2. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    Just make sure that the bass is on to of the pile :) Other than that, I think you should be just fine with a real piece of wood.

3. MarkRubin

MarkRubin F L T

Mar 14, 2005
    Austin TX
    PM, sir.

4. drurb

drurb Oracle, Ancient Order of Rass Hattur; Mem. #1, EPC

Apr 17, 2004

Two? Just two? Hey Ken...

5. KSB - Ken Smith

KSB - Ken Smith Banned Commercial User

Mar 1, 2002
    Perkasie, PA USA
    Owner: Ken Smith Basses, Ltd.