1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

on the verge of giving up.

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Asa Samuel, Aug 26, 2007.

1. i've been playing about 2 years now and can play most things someone asks me to learn but i cant come up with anything decent, or if i do it takes me absolutely ages.

i really love music and i love playing bass but how to hell do i get around this obstacle?

Thanks.
    Bass_Junkie.

2. Hemispheres85

Hemispheres85

Jun 15, 2006
    I'm in almost your exact situation. I've been playing for almost 2 years w/ lessons, and I have a hard time writing any music.

One of the things that I'm trying is learning the melodies to songs as well as basslines. This just kind of gives a new perspective on the different parts of music.

Taking apart music of your influences and understanding things like the chord progressions they use, the transitions between phrases and things like that help. Even though I'm still struggling to write, I find that if I come up with a lyric or even just a phrase I can find a rhythm from that and go from there. I've been told the key is to take baby steps when writing.

3. DocBop

DocBop

Feb 22, 2007
    Los Angeles, CA
    It takes about 10 years to become a good musician so you are still but a grasshopper. Study more theory to get ideas. Listen to more styles and players for ideas. Transcribe and analyze more music. Come up with ideas away from the bass, sing or play another instrument and come up with ideas and transpose them to bass. Read books on creativity like Free Play, Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain, or Victor Wooten's The Music Lesson.