Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

On Three Fingers

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by ghouldani, Sep 18, 2005.

1. ghouldani

ghouldani

Sep 14, 2005
    I am slowly learning the bassist 3 finger salute.

My instinct is to do this

----------------0000--------------------------
    ----------0000--------------------------------
    ----0000--------------------------------------
    ----imri--imri--imri

does this have any advantages?

2. Correlli

Correlli

Apr 2, 2004
    New Zealand
    the way I di it is: RMIR-IMRI-MRIM...

3. nysbob

nysbob

Sep 14, 2003
    Cincinnati OH
    Yup.

4. Alvaro Martín Gómez A.

Alvaro Martín Gómez A. TalkBass' resident Bongo + cowbell player

I'm by no means an expert on the three-finger technique, but I can tell you that your approach makes things very difficult. I think you feel like playing that way because you want to start each downbeat with the same finger, but repeating the index as you do (I highlighted what I'm talking about in the quote) will greatly slow you down. The purpose of this technique is to give each finger more time to breathe between notes when playing fast passages. Your approach is a big handicap for your index finger. You should learn to make any of the three fingers to land on a downbeat, not only the index (Billy Sheehan talks about this problem in his first instructional video). Again, although I've wanted to master this technique, I don't play like that because I can't keep the same tone I get with just two fingers which is fatter and punchier IMO, but I'd play your example like RMIR - MIRM - IRMI.

Hope this helps.

5. Tash

Tash

Feb 13, 2005
    Bel Air Maryland
    I play 3212 or RMIM. This means I never have two notes back to back played with the same finger, which I find awkward and difficult to do at high speeds (the only tiem I play with 3 fingers anyway).

6. Kosta