One flew over the cuckoo's nest

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by outlet3000, Jul 19, 2016.

Tags:
  1. outlet3000

outlet3000

Jul 19, 2016
    Hey guys I'm going to be blunt about this as it's importent you know the details.

I'm a two yesr Bassist and have been with this band for two months now. Being my first band I'm unsure what to expect but already there seems to be problems showing.There are three of us and we know each other throu mental health.

Singer\guitar) Bipolor\psychosis
    Drummer) Psychosis
    Bassist) Aspergers

The singer won't focus on one song and just keeps writing new ones, this is fine but sometimes his lyrics make no sense and are over complicated with no flow. (Should i speake up + how ?)

Little things are showing. I passed it as a joke but was told he is the genius and i'm just the bass player (outch) but he's writting so many songs I'm just using simple basslines to fill in until he chooses one. (spending too much time writting then playing)

The Drummer I don't know very well but only talks to me if he wants to play something or talk about conspiracy. I don't want to talk about them and if you disprove or argue a point he will dig in deeper or get annoyed. (Give him space as he just broken up with his girlfriend)

So I'm a little traped, on one hand I know that they are good people and misunderstood but on the other I'm overloaded. The singer expects me to give opinion for every some he has written in the last five years and alot of it's really depressing (That i'm trying to turn to anger or what he has lernt)
    It just seems that the singer and me are doing all the work and the drummer just tips up and plays any 4 beat pattern.

Do you guys think that this can be turned around and made into something creative ? Sorry for the wall of text but I'm tiered and they don't understand what they're doing to me.