1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

One for the physics guru's

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by i_got_a_mohawk, Mar 22, 2009.

1. Trying to calculate the dielectric constants for two substances. One with refractive index 1.51, one with refractive index of 0.47.

Using in a system where 670nm light is being used.

670nm is 1.85eV (I think).

I'm looking over the equations and I'm just lost and confused. Anyone got any advice or a simple walkthrough of how to approach the problem?

Cheers!

2. machine gewehr

machine gewehr

Sep 17, 2005
    Istanbul
    I called you nerd a few days back and you denied it.
    Now,I'm studying computers and I tell you its not easy at all but what you posted,man...You're one big nerd.:p

j/k;)

3. I know nothing about this, but......

someone must have done a spreadsheet for this so you can just plug in the numbers.........

Try university sites.

4. Ok, ok.

I know I'm a nerd :( , heck, yesterday with the missus, was down to my backup rubber (blueberry!) and made a Dr Manhattan comment :oops: .

5. I've tried looking and can't find anything other than the equations I need to use. I just can't figure out how to do it tho. Damned complex numbers.

Heck, even if I could just figure out what to do with this extinction coefficient part I'd be able to plug away at it :bawl: , wish I knew how to use things like matlab now :(

6. machine gewehr

machine gewehr

Sep 17, 2005
    Istanbul
    Just keep the thread on top so some one will surely help,lots of sharp minds here.

Last week,I learned I had to submit a java work just 2 hours before the deadline.First thing I did was come here and start writing for help.Luckily my friend was able to help me before I hit the post thread button.:p

7. Lucky :p

I've had this for a while, deadline is still a while away. It's part of a greater report, but I'm just stuck on this part :(