One of "those" gigs

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by Dr. Eagle, Apr 22, 2012.

1. I have been playing for many, many years and have played outdoors in lots of different weather. Yesterday my band, a Who Tribute act played at the University of California, Davis for their Picnic Day celebration. It was the first day of the year over 90 degrees (about 95 to be exact). Just about everything that could go wrong because of the heat did go wrong. The PA amps overheated and fed back, My amp went into a terminal feedback mode and had to be taken out of service while I plugged in to the PA direct. Guitar went way flat after every song, my pedal (bass Pod) decided to wrap it up, losing its marbles... on and on. We played about an hour and 10 minutes and by the last song the heat had gotten to me and I was in heat exhaustion mode about to pass out. The drummer took me over to the shade and dumped bottle after bottle of water over my head. It took me an hour before I could stand up without seeing stars. Fortunately our singer had carpooled and he drove home. I couldn't believe the day... definitely one of "those" gigs...:help:

Another story for the 'remember when" file :ninja:

2. Born and raised in Florida, with a two year stint in Columbia, SC.

I wear pants all the time, and used to wear a jacket in the summer. My practice space for a year inside a garage with no AC during the summer.

I still wear pants every day.

The sun has stopped bothering me. My incredibly thin blood makes it easy to do that kind of thing, plus my low body fat.

Now, on the other hand, when I have to play an outdoor gig in weather below 70 or so.... I moan for hours. haha

3. Bassmanbob

Bassmanbob Supporting Member

LMAO... I'm about four hours south of you so I relate to everything you said.

Yeah. I play in 90 + weather frequently, and our band's equipment never fails. Perhaps your equipments' fans need replacing.