1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

One pedal for funk?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Jim Nazium, Dec 14, 2011.

1. I may have some gigs coming up soon with a friend's funk / R&B / go-go band, and I'd like to try a pedal or two to thicken / funkify my sound, at least on some songs. My background is mostly in jazz and I've never used effects before. I is ignorant. What's good to start with? Mutron? Envelope filter? Fuzz?

2. All three!:D:bag:

3. An envelope filter would be a good place to start. 3 Leaf Audio makes two really good envelope filters, the groove regulator and the proton. Iron Ether's Xerograph Deluxe can do some pretty funky things, in addition to tons of synthy filtery goodness. EHX makes the Qtron, which is pretty good, apart from its lack of volume control and 24 V power requirements. I'm using an EHX Enigma, which I'm enjoying, but it seems to be better at making synthy kindy of filtery sounds, and isn't as "wet" sounding as some of the filters I mentioned above. Might get a Xerograph deluxe, hehe.

You could also try an octave pedal, those thicken things up nicely, and are great to make a groove sound absolutely gigantic. I'm using an MXR BOD, and it's great for those purposes, though if you want a polyphonic octaver, I'd recommend the EHX POG2 or MicroPOG, or the T rex Octavius.

4. Ewo

Ewo a/k/a Steve Cooper Supporting Member

Apr 2, 2008
    Huntington WV
    Maybe a VT bass, for the R & B thickening...

5. Envelope filter. Helps if you have compression, too.

6. kb9wyz

kb9wyz

Sep 8, 2008
    Bloomingdale,IL
    If you need one pedal to rule them all, Envelope filter. Big time.

7. Source audio envelope filter with an overdrive pushing it. Tons of different filter sounds and a phaser/flanger

8. if you combine the xerograph deluxe with the oxide you can pretty much paint the air with more funk than anyone can handle