1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Online bass lessons

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by sinbad7, Oct 20, 2017.

1. sinbad7

sinbad7

Dec 17, 2010
    Hey guys! So I've been playing bass for about 15 years. I'm 100% self taught and I would call myself a pretty good bassist. Certainly nothing special, and have incredible room for improvement! I've played in punk bands, metal bands, folk bands. My current band is a metal band, and I recently bought a 5 string (ibanez srff805) and it has basically turned my world upside down, in a good way! I've had to rethink all of my bands songs, and play them differently and transpose riffs and I love that learning feeling that I haven't felt in a long time!
    So my question, I want to find a really good, solid online, or even dvd, bass lesson/music theory lessons that start from the begining. I know the basics, but that's pretty much it but I know I didn't correctly learn them. I want to learn more and become a better bassist and musician! I know there a tons and tons of youtube videos, but there are so many that I don't even know where to begin! There really aren't any good places locally for me to go, and I have a 2 month old, so I don't really have the time to physically leave the house for lessons.
    Any and all feedback would be amazing!
    Thanks guys!

2. I'm old school and feel that music theory is the same for any style of music you may want to play. How we use that theory depends on our specific instrument and the specific style of music we want to play.

I also like to do my theory work by reading about a concept with my bass by my side, i.e. read first, making notes in the margins of the book and then try out what I've learned on my bass.