Open letter: Charles Mingus Documentary "Mingus on Mingus" FKA - a true jazz legend

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by Orangethenblue, Nov 12, 2011.

1. Orangethenblue

Orangethenblue

May 25, 2011
    My fellow bassist,

I am writing to you as someone with an immense love for the instrument and deep respect for all those that continue to contribute to its sound history.
    My name is Kevin Ellington Mingus and I am the grandson of Charles Mingus. Although I have been playing the bass for over 20 years now, I never knew much about Charles until I had been playing for awhile. In an effort to resolve an absence and find the humanity in a person that is known now as a legend, I started to film a documentary Mingus on Mingus. While searching for and speaking with people that knew him beyond the myths of jazz history, I was struck by the contrast in the dissonant tales of a wild artist I read in books and the congruous stories of a man I was hearing. I have since been on a quest to continue discovering more about him- the father, the friend and the man. I know that if we can understand him as a man we will be closer to him as an artist.

The journey has just begun and while I wish I had the resources to complete it I have hit the hard reality of producing a project of this scale independently. We know the challenge to thrive as artist can come in many forms and right now mine is financial. What I have of my grandfather is this wonderful legacy I am discovering. What I would like to give is a perspective on his legacy that has not had a voice in shaping it. Rather than accepting an image that has turned him into a product I am trying to understand my past in terms I can clearly define.