1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Open mic tips

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Linkmet220, Mar 29, 2016.

1. Linkmet220

Linkmet220

Mar 29, 2016
    So, I have been practicing the bass for roughly 6 months now. Last sunday was my first ever open mic night at a local bar, now would anyone be willing to give me advice playing live and by ear?

2. two fingers

two fingers Opinionated blowhard. But not mad about it. Suspended Gold Supporting Member

Feb 7, 2005
    Eastern NC USA
    Hey Welcome to TalkBass!

Couple questions.

Is bass your first instrument?
    Was Sunday your first live performance?
    Do you have any friends who play guitar or drums you could jam with up there on stage?

JGbassman likes this.
  3. Linkmet220

Linkmet220

Mar 29, 2016
    Bass is my first instrument
    Sunday was my first live performance, I mostly played by feel, from what others said I, "had the feel" of being a bass player but, again I've only been playing 6 months so I don't know what exactly that means.
    I do not, due to my odd work schedule but since its open mic night its not hard finding people who will play.

4. two fingers

two fingers Opinionated blowhard. But not mad about it. Suspended Gold Supporting Member

Feb 7, 2005
    Eastern NC USA
    Cool.

Well, if you are familiar with chord structures of basic songs you should be fine. In my experience open mic stuff is one of three things.....

1) I, IV, V (1, 4, 5) blues jams

2) A freestyle "jam" where one guy (usually a guitar player) will give a brief explanation of the chord structure and then take off into the song.

3) A prepared song that a band knows or a standard cover song "everybody knows" (a structured cover or original)

I think at the level you are currently 2 and 3 might be your thing....unless you just happen to be into blues and have played some of it.