Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

open string -vs- 5th

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by chuckyt, Mar 1, 2002.

1. chuckyt

chuckyt

Sep 6, 2001
    lafayette, LA
    i have been learning how to play music by means of the bass for several months now. one habbit i have is to play fifth fret notes instead of the equivelent open string. is this bad?

2. warwickbass

warwickbass

Dec 8, 2001
    Minnesota
    it all depends on what your playing, youll find uses for one that wont work or would not work well using the open note, and some for the fifth fret.

3. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    On basses without zero fret open strings can sound differently than fretted notes, so it might be advisable to avoid open strings on lines that are supposed to have a consistent tone throughout.

"open string licks" are a different thing though.

4. I think you'll always get a different tone from open strings than the equivalent 5th fret note- the 5th fret note will sound fuller, and conversely the open string thinner, but with more clarity.
    it's unavoidable due to the string lengths being different, different gauge of the string, different position on the neck.

whether anyone but you notices it is a different matter.

I avoid using open D and G strings- the tone is too thin- except for special chordal things.
    but I often use an open A string- especially when using drop-D tuning.

I think most players (especially 4 string players) switch between using open and 5th fret notes- eg. John Entwistle.

5. As I began to mature in my bass playing (that was last week, I think ;) ) I learned that pattern playing helps you start up the fingerboard. This finger diagram was also in "Ron Greene's Bass Guitar Dial"

1----4
    --2----
    --------