1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Opening Old Wounds: Capacitor Help

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by organworthyplayer337, Apr 26, 2016.

Tags:
  1. organworthyplayer337

organworthyplayer337 Professional Hack

Oct 28, 2014
    Charlotte, NC
    I have a Jaguar Bass which has a P/J setup and another Precision Bass; when I roll off the tone on the P, it gets really dark and "muddy". I like that but when I roll the tone off on the Jag it doesn't get anywhere near as dark as the P.

So my questions are;

What capacitor value would darken the P (tone rolled off) on the Jag?

Would that cap darken the sound of the Jag overall? (i.e. will the P with the tone full open sound darker too?)

I'm sorry for rehashing this topic but I'm not very technically inclined and I looked through a couple of other threads and still need help.

Thanks!

2. hondo4life

hondo4life

Feb 29, 2016
    SC
    I believe more farads eat up more high frequencies, but I could be wrong.

3. A higher capacitance.

For sufficiently large resistance, there is no audible difference between capacitances. You could even replace the capacitor with a piece of wire, and it would sound the same.

portpc and fretless19 like this.
  4. RobbieK

RobbieK

Jun 14, 2003
    find out the value of the cap in the bass, then double it. then buy the nearest common value cap. eg, if it's "223", then that's 22nf (nanofarads). 47nf is the nearest common value to 44.

also check that the bass is wired correctly, and that the tone pot is functioning properly. you'll need a multimeter to do this.

organworthyplayer337 likes this.
  5. organworthyplayer337

Oct 28, 2014
    Charlotte, NC
    Hi, thanks for the reply.

I've taken a picture of the cap in the P;
    image.

It's says 04K, is that another way of saying 0.047uf?