Opinion of Fender P-Bass as First

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ChlkDstTtr, Feb 15, 2002.

1. ChlkDstTtr

ChlkDstTtr Guest

Feb 15, 2002
    Seacoast New Hampshire
    First of all as a new member I have to say this is a kickin' sight. I like the community, and as a web developer I think the sight has some really cool features. I hope I can become a welcome part of the community

Now to the point of my post.

I'm learning the bass (trying again after close to ten years since my first attempt). I'm looking at buying a bass in the (hopefully) not-to-distant future.

I have my eyes set on a Fender Precision Bass (probably go for the MIM since it's cheaper), and I wanted to know what everyones oppinion of it is. Is it a good bass to start out on?

Thanks for the input.
  2. Welcome to TalkBass.

Hey I finnaly got a "welcome" first.
    I guess it pays to be new here and forced to stand by the door.:D

Fender MIM Is an excelent starter bass in My opinion although it has kind of "Honda" thing going for it, You know good reliable but i would rather have a Porsch.
  3. Identify the type of music you are going to play, and the type of sound you want/need. The P and J have different tones.

I just bought a MIM P to complement my RB5 (J type) cuz I want the P tone for my blues gig.
  4. CamMcIntyre

Jun 6, 2000
    You can't go wrong with a Fender Mexi Jazz or a Mexi P-bass. If you decided to mod it any time later there are an abundance of parts and best of all, every bassist/tech knows what it is when you say it. BTW i have a 97 mexi jazz w/flats on it. thats all
  5. xush

Jul 4, 2001
    mobile AL
    Yeah, this is a nice site, isn't it? I certainly enjoy it...

I've had a chance to play quite a few basses this year, several of which I bought. Some were pretty high-end. One was a MIM Fender P.
    I have to say I've enjoyed the boutique stuff immensely. But the MIM P really holds its own.