Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Opinion Question about Appearance

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by stingray56funk, Apr 18, 2005.

1. stingray56funk

stingray56funk Supporting Member

Feb 16, 2005
    Atlanta
    I am torn many times between Tone and Look. When I have live gigs they are primarily "rock" or Soul-Funk but most of my "solo-playing" is fusion or funk/jazz. I love all the solo bassists and dig their tone. My main bass is an EB Musicman Stingray 5 but I am heavily desiring a Ken Smith CR5M. HOw many of you buy your basses to match your gigs? I mean more specifically will you only take a Fender or Ernie Ball to a rock gig or would you be willing to take a Ken Smith or a Fodera to a rock gig if the tone was better for it? I am a college student and have been playing bass for 11 years and the gigs I mainly get are of the rock/christian rock genre but I love the tone of "Higher-End Boutique Style" basses. I have limited funds so owning a herd of basses is out of the question. I can't buy a Musicman, Sadowsky, Ken Smith, and Fender to cover all my gigs. I NEED SOME OPINIONS ON LOOKS AND DOES IT MATTER? Thanks guys!

2. Juneau

Juneau

Jul 15, 2004
    Dallas, TX.
    Personally, I dont care what kind of bass is being played if it sounds good. I saw a kinda pop band this weekend and the bass player had a Roscoe 6 string he was playing and it sounded awesome. I was actually happier seeing something nice up there than a stock Fender, but then again, that sound has its place too hehe.

3. cetera

cetera

Apr 29, 2004
    Surrey, England
    Endorsing Artist: Spector Basses & Cort Basses
    I guess to some extent it depends on your basses of choice.