Opinions of Chris Wood

Discussion in 'Bassists [DB]' started by takemusu, May 6, 2002.

1. takemusu

May 6, 2002
    Newbie here, saving up for my first purchase of a DB. I just wanted to pass along the word about my favorite player out there. Chris Wood of Medeski, Martin & Wood is absolutely outstanding. All three are, really, and they push not only the limits of jazz but music in general to breathtaking extremes.

The trio has acoustic jazz roots and has progressed to their latest album, Uninvisible. Uninvisible features a host of guest musicians including DJs (??), but everything is as tasteful as can be. This album, too, is more atmospheric and focused on mood than the others. The bass plays a larger role in this album as well.

Chris Wood is known to pull out a Hofner on occasion, so beware DB purists!

Does anyone else have opinions on Wood / MMW? Curious to know from the more experienced players on this board.
  2. Yeah, I'm pretty fond of Chris Wood's playing. I like the fact that be and B. martin comprise such an interesting rhythm section.Alot of that is probably due to the difference in their playing backgrounds. Actually there are times that I am not that pleased with Medeski, he just gets a little overwhelming for me. Haven't heard their new one yet, I'll go check it out...
  3. All Hail Chris Wood!

As you might surmise, I'm a bit of a MMW fan. I've loved that group ever since my first listen to Friday Afternoon in the Universe, and Uninvisible has been quite the persistent fixture in my CD player lately.

At first I wasn't too crazy about Chris' migration to gut DB strings and the Hofner Viola BG, but I've really come around on that sound in a big way.

IMHO, if you want a great example of ridiculously solid funkyness, check out Shackman, Combustication, and Uninvisible. If you want a great example of his earlier steel-strung sound, check out It's a Jungle in Here, especially his blazing solo on "Syeeda's Song Flute."