Opinions on a purchase : To buy or not to buy? (Fender Fretless)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by YukoNarutoX, Aug 11, 2005.

1. YukoNarutoX

Aug 11, 2005
    Well, to start off, I am a 17 year old high school student. I've been playing music for over 7 years (mostly low brass) and I have been playing Bass for 3 years (on a fretted Peavy).I play in the school's Jazz Band on Bass, and I usually play Zeppelin and The Beatles covers with my friends as gigs for parties and the like (plus other stuff....60's, 70s, and 90's stuff).

With that said:

Should I spend 500$ on a new Fender Fretless Jazz Bass (American)? I know how difficult it may be to play, but I think I can get intonation down. Money isn't a problem, as I already have a car and am getting 100% college for my SAT and GPA in FL..........plus I have a part time job.

Any opinions on going Fretless? Will it be too hard? Well, thanks.
  2. pointbass

pointbass Semi-Retired Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

Nov 4, 2004
    Acworth, GA
    Endorsing Artist: FBB Bass Works
    You have a couple of things in your favor ..... 1st, you're a music student so it's assumed that you have probably developed a decent ear for intonation. That's the hardest part of a fretless, playing in tune, so that early training you've received will really help. Plus, you have three years on an electric bass already, so it's not like you're switching over from a double bass (which is a whole different set of techniques). And that same three years isn't soooo long that you would have developed a bunch of bad playing habits yet ;)

Fender's are almost always a safe bet, although I'm sure there will be a bunch of people telling you to try "this" or "that" bass instead. If it feels comfortable when you play it, then it's likely a good choice for you. Big warning, though ... for many of us, once we start playing fretless it's tough to go back to fretted basses :D :cool: