Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Opinions on MIM Fender Jazz Deluxe 5 ?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Derhak1, Jan 7, 2003.

1. Derhak1

Derhak1

Jan 7, 2003
    Burlington,VT
    Hey- I just found this board, and I'm glad that I finally found an all bass discussion group. I have been playing a fretless 4 for a couple years now, and am looking to get a fretted again. I also want to go ahead and get a 5 string. I am a coolege student, so I'm working on a budget for sure. I played a MIM Fender Jazz Deluxe 5 string at a local store last week and it felt and sounded really good. I definitely like the active electronics compared to a standard MIM Jazz. I also like the nicer hardware and the shell pickguards. Does anybody here have one of these basses? They seem like a good buy for about $550. Any opinions are welcome. Thanks-Alex

2. Nino Valenti

Nino Valenti Commercial User

Feb 2, 2001
    Staten Island NYC
    Builder: Valenti Basses
    I owned one of these basses for a little while. They were very nice. They sound great & feel really nice. IMO, one of the best Fender models & @ $550, It's even better.

Welcome to TB!!!!

3. godoze

godoze

Oct 21, 2002
    Welcome to TB!!

Those are nice basses for the buck; my brother in law has one and gigs the hell out of it without problems.

4. richie

richie

Dec 12, 2002
    San Diego County
    I have one and I was using it as a primary bass at all our gigs and it heald up just fine. Now its a back up thumper. I do miss playing it cause of the nice fender sound and the weight. Its worth the 500$ and the only thing I would change is mabe the bridge. The first gig I played with it I had a bunch of comps, so as long as you have a decent amp you love it!
    good luck..............

5. PICK

PICK

Jan 27, 2002
    Sydney, Australia
    Welcome to TB!!!