Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

opinions on press kit pics

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by csholtmeier, Sep 9, 2005.

1. csholtmeier

csholtmeier

Feb 8, 2004
    omaha, ne
    I'm new at this,so any feedback/suggestions would be greatly appreciated. It's for a Jager sponsored band, hence the flag and bottles.

[​IMG]

2. jive1

jive1 Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member Commercial User

Jan 16, 2003
    Alexandria,VA
    Owner/Retailer: Jive Sound
    My advice about promo pics is that they should be reproduceable in a number of formats (i.e. newspapers, internet, posters, photocopy, etc.). It's a hassle to send one pic for internet, one for newprint, etc. The "one picture works for all" policy not only saves time and money, it will also provide consistency.

Even though your pic looks cool, it probably won't reproduce well in a newspaper or for a cheap photocopied flyer/poster. But, it would do well online.

3. Agreed. Working as a graphic artist we run into that sort of thing all the time. The composition is great though. Very cool and dark feel. You look ready to kick some a$$. Just make sure that feel is conveyed in different mediums.

J

4. Joe P

Joe P

Jul 15, 2004
    Milwaukee, WI
    I'm not kidding you when I say that I DID learn much from RockAndRollConfidential's 'Hall Of Douchbags'.

http://www.rockandrollconfidential.com/hall/hall_detail.php?dd_keyid=695

Rip through a hundred-or-so of these. It really IS helpful to see what they make fun of!

I suppose I could send my band promo in to them, and if it doesn't appear in the 'Hall', I'm doing alright!

Joe

5. Bongolation

Bongolation

Nov 9, 2001
    California
    No Bogus Endorsements
    The advice here is good, and about what I would have told you.