Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Opinions on Schecter basses

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by pgurns, Dec 26, 2003.

1. pgurns

pgurns

Dec 26, 2003
    Northern, IL
    I am looking to buy a new bass to upgrade from my Dean Edge 1. I am a novice/intermediate player. What is your opinion of Schecter basses, I am particularly inerested in the C4 Elite.

Thanks for any help yuou can provide. I am new to bass playing so any information or reccomendations you can provide however trivial is greatly appreciated.

Paul

2. In Flames

In Flames

Dec 11, 2003
    Ohio
    I think they are good basses for the money.

3. pgurns

pgurns

Dec 26, 2003
    Northern, IL
    Thanks for the reply. They look fantastic. I have heard mixed opinions on the EMG HZ pups though.

I am trying to decide between the Schecter C4 and possibly a Lakland Skyline series 44-01.

The Schecter looks much better but I think the pups and electronics on the Lakland would be better. Not sure about the playability and feel though.

4. To my experience, schecter basses have extremely tinny tone and have a... gross kind of feel to them.

THen again, floor models usually suck, and that's all I'm basing this on.

Eh.

5. hateater

hateater snatch canadian cream

May 4, 2001
    Eugene, OR
    I am guessing you have not played a Lakland? I own a 55-01, and it kicks major booty! I have never been satisfied with any schecter I have played. Go Lakland my friend.

6. Poon

Poon

May 20, 2003
    Los Angeles, CA