Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Opinions on Tobias

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BassicCat, Aug 20, 2000.

1. BassicCat

BassicCat

Apr 8, 2000
    I like the Steinbergers, and would enjoy a Spirit XT-2. I have a very tired Lotus copy of the 'Berger, but have tried a SoundGear. The Tobias on MusicYo looks great. I'm trying to decide, and would appreciate opinions from some of you "real" bassists. I'm new to playing, and will likely only play as a hobby on the side. Thanks!

2. killpop

killpop

Aug 20, 2000
    the new tobias basses are fantastic, ive got 2 at the present time. to be honest i was kind of put of when i first read that Gibson owns tobias now and that they were manufacturing them but after playing the pro4 i was sold. they have everything the old michael tobias basses had without the price tag. the tone is so unbelievably killer, it has such range and power. ive made them my full time basses, i wont be useing anything else. the tobias eats ibanez soundgears for breakfast.

3. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

I'm afraid I would have to diagree and say that there hasn't been a real Tobias made since 1990. I have tried a lot of the newer ones and those we are talking about can not be compared with the "real" Tobias basses, which were "hand made" by Michael Tobias and his small crew up to 1990.

Some of the Gibson basses are a pretty good standard, but the Music Yo stuff is extremely far-removed in quality terms from original Tobias standards. They are just cheap copies really and a mass-produced bass like this is never going to be the same as a "boutique" bass.