Opinions please...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Irie01, Feb 22, 2002.

1. Irie01

Jan 22, 2002
    Hi to everyone here. Well, I am waiting to get my Sterling/mapleboard/vintage sunburst from Ernie Ball. I am looking through old threads and they have me once again thinking about the rosewood maple issue. I chose maple with the consideration of how much sweeter it looks on a v.sunburst, and more so because I have been playing a rosewood Stingray now for a few months, and I want to go for something different. Now, one thing that I wonder about, is that I see that people feel that rosewood has that more warmer tone as oppose to the maple.Is that to say that you can not get a nice low from the maple? For example in playing jazz or reggae.I know that most reggae bassists I see are using rosewood, but I am just curious to see what tones and feel the maple is capable of. I also hear snappy when describing a maple. Just what exactly is a snappy tone?What is everyone's opinion on this. I am not asking which one is better, but if maple can get that low warm feel also, or at least does it have a very different tone?Like Eric from Sublime, Familyman, and Flabba from the Roots Radics, for example.
  2. Irie01

Jan 22, 2002
    Hmmmm...what I am basically trying to ask is if it is unheard of using a MM style bass like a Sterling with a maple board for styles like reggae, ska , and jazz?
  3. Richard Lindsey

Richard Lindsey

Mar 25, 2000
    Metro NYC