1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Opinions, please

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Phil313, Feb 20, 2008.

1. Phil313

Phil313

Feb 20, 2008
    New Hampshire
    I am a beginning bassist. Through a series of unusual events, I have been given a four bass and a five string bass. So..my question is, which do I learn first? Should I learn on the four-string first and easily adapt to the five string? Or vice-versa?
    What are the pros and cons?
    Many thanks in advance for your time and opinion.

2. lomo

lomo passionate hack Supporting Member

Apr 15, 2006
    Montreal
    I don't think there's a right answer, only relative opinions. The 4 string will b a bit easier to learn on, both ergonomically and in terms of theory, but that doesn't mean it would be better to start with a 4 from the long-term perspective. Personally, I'd start with the 5 and forget the 4 altogether. There's nothing you can play on a 4 that can't be played on a 5.

3. It's all what you want. In theory, the four string is easier, but I can't play a four very well anymore. The extra string comforts me in times of need.

4. Phil313

Phil313

Feb 20, 2008
    New Hampshire
    Thanks, Morris, for your considered opinion. If I understand you then: If I learn on the 5 string, I would be able to play the 4 string, right?
    Is there any reaon I would want to play both? Keep both? If you were in my situation, would you sell the 4 and keep the 5?
    Thanks!

5. Okay:

In theory if you learn 5, 4 should be easy to adapt to. I have trouble going from 5 to 4, but you might be different. You'd want the 5 for a low B or a high C string. Which basses are they?

I'd keep the 5'er for now, depending on which basses they are and what quality it is. Some like 5's, some hate it. You have to try what's more comfortable to you.

6. MyUsernameHere

MyUsernameHere ?????????????

Nov 3, 2007