1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Opinions regarding various versions of the MXR Phase 90

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by 40Hz, Jan 19, 2017.

1. 40Hz

40Hz Supporting Member

I find myself in need of a bass friendly phase shifter for something I'm working on. And (so far) I've pretty much narrowed it down to either the MXR Phase 90 Custom Shop or the '74 Vintage edition. Right now I'm debating with myself about which I prefer.

I'm going to be using it with a more midrange heavy bass (e.g. Ripper/T-40/T-20) and I primarily need a slow and rich but subtle phasing sound. Not so much an effect as a texture in the background. Emphasis here is on subtle but rich and smooth. Ideally more noticeable when it's switched out rather than in.

So all you pedal and effect mavens (I'm not an expert by any stretch)...I'd appreciate your impressions, experiences, opinions, rants, etc. on either of these two pedals - or - whatever else you think a relative effects novice like me should be using as a phaser. The only other candidate I've listened to so far that I thought had potential for the old-school sound I was looking for was the EHX Small Stone. Can't listen to the '74 version of the MXR because they don't seem to available right now.

I'd also like to keep the purchase price as much below $150 as possible, consistent with getting the results I'm looking for. So recommendations for a beautiful "do everything" H9 or a Strymon box won't be helpful here. And I'd prefer to keep it in the analog realm if at all possible. Because I've got digital coming out the wazoo, and nothing digital I've got quite has the organic sound I'm looking for.

So...all you pedal and effects wizards...what say you? I'm open to trying out anything at this point.

Thankee! :)

Last edited: Jan 19, 2017
  2. Driven Crane

Driven Crane

May 30, 2014
    40Hz likes this.
  3. MGR