1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Options for a passive 5-string P/J bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by El_Duderino, Jul 17, 2012.

1. El_Duderino

El_Duderino

Aug 23, 2011
    Atlanta, GA
    (I'm sorry if this topic's been covered before, but the forum search removed key things like "P/J" and the 5 from "5-string", so I was only able to do a search for "string" which was less than helpful. That said...)

I'm a beginner/intermediate player, and I'm hoping to start playing gigs before the end of the year. My main bass is a 2006 MIM Fender Jazz bass, but I've also got a '72 Gibson EB0. Trying to be professional about things, I'd like to have a backup bass available/ready if I do start playing gigs, and for a number of reasons (value, considerable difference in sound), I'd like to get another bass besides the EB0 as my backup. I tend to play in the alt-country genre, and would like to find a bass with a sound that is complimentary to that style.

Talking to my teacher over the weekend, I mentioned I was thinking about either a p-bass or a 5-string as a backup (either of which might push my jazz bass to backup status), and he suggested I look out for a 5-string p/j combo. Since my jazz bass is passive, I'm looking for a passive p/j so as not to throw off eq should I need to switch.

Since my playing is still very much a hobby (and my wife just lost her job) I can't throw down a couple grand for a boutique bass. What are some of the options available to me, particularly where money is a definite concern? As a bit of an aside - would it be doable to put together something like this as a franken-bass, and if so, which parts (5-string, p/j) would I want to make sure were done at the factory, and which would be mod-able at home?

Thanks!

2. Mola Ram

Mola Ram

Jan 18, 2010