Orchestral strings for jazz ?

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by cocoune, Mar 15, 2018.

1. cocoune

cocoune

Jan 28, 2012
    Hi,
    I'm new to upright bass. I play jazz. I have a good setup on my bass but im pretty sure i have d'addario orchestral strings (blue). First, how can i be sure ? Whats the color of the jazz strings ? And second, is it a big deal for now or i should immediately buy the helicore jazz strings ?

Thanks

2. Bijoux

Bijoux

Aug 13, 2001
    Denver-CO-USA
    They are fine. I remember the great bassist Ray Drummond used them for a while for a darker sound. a lot of other people use these strings for jazz for a darker old school sound.

PBandJazzBass and Lee Moses like this.
  3. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator Gold Supporting Member

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    The above is true. On the other hand, if you want a more weighty/sustaining sound with more high end information, you may want to look at jazz specific strings. A lot will depend on how much you plan to bow and what your overall end game is. One of my top students just moved on from the strings you describe to more pizzicato oriented strings and found the experience life changing.

Eric Hochberg likes this.
  4. turf3

turf3

Sep 26, 2011
    I have no experience with the specific strings you're referring to, but my bass has Bel Canto strings, which are generally regarded as a "fairly dark" orchestral string, and the only thing I use the bass for is bluegrass and jazz. The bass-strings combo has what I would call a "heavy, dark, blunt" sound which has a great deal of presence but doesn't cut through much (if that makes sense). I have thought about trying other strings but have not dared to leap into those waters yet.

So the point is that based on my experience you don't have to jump right into string changes just because you have strings that are generally considered more orchestral in application.