organic tone Generation

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by SunneyBoy, Jan 2, 2006.

1. Hi there this is my first thread , i have been playing for about 6 years and like all of us out there i am on a quest for great tone , i have purchased loads of great gear that i am extremely happy with , but i have realised the most important variable in the process of tone generation should be me . iam a great fan of players like jaco , richard bona and there tone is what i would like for myself .

are there any players out there who are after that sort of tone , and woulen i do it thed you be willing to share your findings with regards to attack right hand position and left hand muting( for a righty).

i know alot of players promote digging in hard to achieve that tone , i have been doing ,that but at my gig on new years eve i couldnt stand my tone anymore i think i may be hitting it to hard and thus destroying a sound rather than creating one .

any imput would be greatly appreciated.
  2. From what I've heard, Jaco used a lighter touch...

..if you are always digging in, where does that leave room for any kind of dynamics??
  3. bassjus

Mar 30, 2004
    just experiment with different things, also try adjust your pickup level it's a pretty important factor that seems to be overlooked.
  4. PhilMan99

Jul 18, 2003
    US, Maryland
    I'd start with strings; personally I favor flatwound, but that's just me. Whatever your desired sound, strings have a *huge* impact. Don't just settle for whatever is at the local music store; is a good source once you know what you want (to try). Labella, Rotosound and TI are 3 very good brands for various types of "best of breed" tone.

If you've got "a lot of gear", like me, you may find that you've got too much electronic mumbo-jumbo in your signal chain. A lot of the old vintage sounds were just passive basses driving a good amp.