1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Organizing a Benefit

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by GreggBummer, Mar 24, 2009.

1. If this is in the wrong forum... I apologize in advance.

I am a veteran. I served two tours in Iraq, two in Bosnia, and I served in the US Army for close to 13 years.

My intent is to organize a small benefit to raise money for veterans returning to the Philadelphia area who are struggling with PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder). I hope to hold the benefit on or around Veterans Day, in November of 2009.

I have a few charities that seem sort of interested. I have a some bars/clubs that have showed interest as well. However, I would rather get a small venue. Getting a few bands together seems like it should be an easy thing to do (I have already booked my band;) )

My questions revolve around the idea of making the benefit a not-for-profit. A 501 (c). This would open up several small venues here in South Jersey or Philadelphia that allow benefits at a reduced price. One venue, The Scottish Rite Theater here in Collingswood, NJ is a nearly half price for non-profit organizations. Does anyone have any experience setting up a benefit? I am curious about how the money is generated.

The original plan was to just get a few bands together and play a bar. Charge a cover and donate it. Maybe get the bar to kick in a percentage of the bar take. Then donate the money to the charity. This is probably the way to go... but I am keeping my options open and I am looking for some ideas.

Regards,
    Gregg

2. My band set one up last summer. You need to find a charity and email a rep(make sure the charity is legit, do your research). We booked a venue that gave us a good rate because it was a benefit and charged everyone at the door. Then just deposited the money and wrote a check to the charity.

3. Stumbo