Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Original vs. Well, Not Original

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by JediMonk2, Aug 23, 2000.

1. JediMonk2

JediMonk2

Aug 22, 2000
    I've been playing bass for a little over two years now, mostly for the school's jazz band, and in a special lesson group/jazz combo thing, and in my church's worship band. I played in a couple of other bands, which fell apart after *ahem* creative differences. My problem is that while I can play someone else's music if it's in front of me (not tablature, actual music), I can hardly memorize much but basic riffs and chord progressions. Usually, I just make up my own stuff. I'm used to doing it, because normally I'm only following chord progressions as it is. I feel bad when doing someone else's stuff, almost guilty, because I'm changing it almost completely to my own style. My point? Is this wrong? Should I concentrate on playing the song the way it was originally intended to be played, or should I keep using my way? Also, should I keep the song more consistent from performance to performance, instead of playing whatever I feel I should play?

2. JHMAVRO

JHMAVRO

May 29, 2000
    hooksett NH USA
    Well Jedimonkdude, That is a very debatable concept.
    I say, just play it they way you feel like playing it, unless people tell you that it sounds like $hit. Then, its time to wip out some sheet music I guess. ;)

3. White_Knight

White_Knight

Mar 19, 2000
    USA
    Not sure if this is for you or against you, but here's what I did: