1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Originals or covers? What is the scene like now for the younger ones?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by sef, Oct 30, 2010.

1. sef

sef

Oct 24, 2010
    I'm not too old, I'm 37 but when I played in the early 90's we played mostly originals. (Hair band) Two sets with 3 or 4 covers mixed in. I'm just getting started playing again after a long layoff of 15 years or so. I don't want to play out again, but I'm just curious what the scene is like nowadays.

Do the people still like to hear originals? Or is it all about the covers?

2. You neglected to disclose your location...

3. atlboriqua

atlboriqua

Nov 13, 2007
    I think the venue you are playing in would determine a lot of that. My cover band has been doing clubs and bars around Atlanta and the best crowd response comes from songs that they know and that they could dance to. We throw in an original here and there and it goes okay but nothing compared to covers that people know and love.

4. sef

sef

Oct 24, 2010
    I'm in Akron, Ohio.

5. seanm

seanm I'd kill for a Nobel Peace Prize!

Feb 19, 2004
    Ottawa, Canada
    Depends on the venue. Some venues want originals, some want covers, some accept both ;) For some reason blues bands that play only covers aren't usually considered cover bands.

It seems most bars have a set limit. So say it is $300. Great money for a duo. Ok for a trio. Sucks for a larger band. Really sucks for an originals band that can only play two sets and needs to split with another band.

6. tycobb73

tycobb73

Jul 23, 2006
    Grand Rapids MI
    DJ, kareoke (sp?)

7. Floyd Eye

Floyd Eye Banned

Feb 21, 2010
    St. Louis
    If you don't mind not getting paid, do originals.

8. We need some Akron-area people to chime in about the scene there... Some areas are better for originals, some for covers...

9. peledog

peledog