1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Oscar Pettiford

Discussion in 'Bassists [DB]' started by The_Reverend, Mar 27, 2009.

1. The_Reverend

The_Reverend

Dec 3, 2008
    Hi all. I'm studying jazz in Ireland at the minute and as part of my couyrse I've decided to study Oscar Pettiford. Anyway I thought one interesting aspect of his playing I could write about (considering he's most famous as a bebop bassist) would be his swung 8th's. They weren't quite triplets, nor were they straight. And so i'm looking for articles on this subject, or better yet to start a discussion amongst the others on this board who may have studied him in the past.

2. John Goldsby

John Goldsby Supporting Member

Mar 4, 2003
    Bassist @ WDR Big Band Cologne, Columnist — BassMagazine.com, Conservatorium Maastricht, NL
    You can get an idea of Oscar's hand movement here, from one of his few video appearances in the movie The Crimson Canary.

3. AndreasH

AndreasH

Apr 8, 2005
    Sweden
    Listen to his album "Another one" if you haven't already heard it.

4. Buogon

Buogon

Feb 2, 2009
    New Jersey
    If you are studying him check out his cello playing, also learn the way he play this
    instrument you will find this exciting also.

5. AndreasH

AndreasH

Apr 8, 2005
    Sweden
    Well, he didn't play the cello with cello tuning (fifths; C, G, D, A.). He tuned it like a bass one octave higher. So he kind of played bass on a cello. But he sure swings on that cello!

6. The_Reverend

The_Reverend

Dec 3, 2008
    Thanks for all the suggestions guys. What i'm really talking about here is the rhythmic quality to his swung 8th notes. They're not quite triplets or 16ths and for me it made his playing sound very distinguished. Check out his solo on Green Haze by Miles Davis on Musings of Miles and you'll get me

7. Marcus Johnson

Marcus Johnson

Nov 28, 2001
    Maui