Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Out of circ, itchin' to roll

Discussion in 'Ask Mike Watt [Archived]' started by rmonk, Aug 27, 2001.

1. rmonk

rmonk

Aug 26, 2001
    Spokane, WA
    I'm an old bass player who wants to come out of retirement--at least to entertain myself if not to play live, etc. Last number of years (8-9), I've shamefully rarely touched by oold Rick. I'm renewing my interest & even looking for new gear.
    2 questions:
    1. Hints for a self-taught dude to help get his limited chops back & 2. suggestions for decent but moderately priced intro. gear. (My old Rick has seen many a battle--a big one it lost to a former drunken house mate--the neck got cracked, repaired, but now the intonation is off & seemingly unfixable.) Any assistance appreciated. Looking forward to Watt in Spokane.

Rick

2. watt

watt TalkBass Pro Supporting Member

hi,

glad you're getting back to bass-ics! this is what I did after that sickness that almost killed me and the surgery that kept me from playing for awhile: play along to records. namely, all that old motown stuff w/james jamerson and all the stooges records. they're all full of groove and not many chord changes so you can get your feel back. no big stretches w/the fingers either. repetitions, repetitions - that's what can help big time. helps develop the ear too. I think it's better than just doing scales but that can help a little w/the dexterity.