1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

"Out of phase" situation in "Dual Amp" setup

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by JaySeeDoubleYou, Oct 7, 2010.

1. Hey Guys!

Didn't see an existing thread that deals directly with this: I'm just beginning to dabble with "dual - amp" setups. The one amp is a 2007 Fender Bassman 250/2-10 solid state, closed cab combo amp. Not real high end, nothing to get excited about, necessarily, but not a budget basement amp either. Very modern tone with a fair smattering of modern features. The other amp is a 1967 Sears Silvertone 1483 all-tube bass amp (made by Danelectro). It's a separate amp and head, though the head fits in a cavity in the back of the cab, resulting in a psuedo-open back cab. The cab contains a single 15" Jensen paper cone speaker.

If the Bassman has a very modern tone, the Silvertone has a -very- retro tone. Very mid-heavy, very highly defined tone, much more personality than the fender, but less high end, and a relatively thin bottom. Also, since it's only a 23 watt amp, it begins to go into tube distort pretty early on the dial (about 9 o'clock), though because it's tube, it still manages to be plenty loud for a home studio environment.

The Fender is very well rounded with big bottom, bright highs, and the crystal clarity of solid state, but by itself doesn't have much "personality", it's kind of bland. The silvertone has got awesome personality, great definition in the midrange, and that bad-boy tube grow, but by itself is fairly lacking in the low end, and overdrives way too easily, and too heavily. But the two combined create a really neat sound. I usually keep the volume just a little bit higher on the Silvertone so that it's slightly dominant. It really creates a best-of-both worlds sound.