1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Outboard preamp question.

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Mike M., Aug 7, 2012.

1. Mike M.

Mike M.

Feb 14, 2010
    I play a Fender AM STD 5 string Jazz bass fingerstyle thru my GK MB115 combo amp. Sounds pretty darned good and I have no complaints.

But lately I've been getting back into playing some songs with a pick and would like to get something like an outboard preamp that will help me to shape the tone more to my liking when I do use a pick.

I've never used an outboard preamp before and while I've been reading up on a few differant ones (Sadowsky, Aguilar) I'm open to suggestions as to what works for you folks. All I know is that I'd like something that has good cut or boost capabilites on the bass, mid and treble.

Thanks in advance.

2. newbold

newbold

Sep 21, 2008
    Toronto
    I like my eden WTDI. Very clean, has a compressor and great EQ.

Not for everyone, but it's pretty awesome and not at all expensive.

3. Mike M.

Mike M.

Feb 14, 2010
    Thanks for the suggestion! I'll read up on it.

4. simenandreas

simenandreas

Jan 23, 2011
    I have the sadowsky outboard preamp :) Sounds very good, but it is only volum, treble and bass boost. No mid control

5. Pickebass

Pickebass Supporting Member

Jul 12, 2004
    San Antonio, TX
    It depends on what you are looking for... The Sadowsky is a boost only on both treble and bass. The Aguilar tone hammer is boost/cut on all frequencies. Both are very clean sounding pedals without grind. The Sadowsky is very hifi and the Aguilar is darker for lack of a better term. Some others to consider depending on what you are looking for:

Xotic BB- Nice overdrive tone, can add a little thickness- more effect than preamp