Outbound- Stu Hamm or The Flecktones????

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by JHMAVRO, Sep 6, 2000.

May 29, 2000
    hooksett NH USA
    I just noticed that Stu Hamms New CD is called "Outbound"
    Well so is the New Flecktones album.
    Is this legal??? Just curious
  2. JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    Why would it be illegal?! It's just a word...
    I think Eric Dolphy had an album named OUTBOUND back from the '60s.
  3. I'm no Lawyer, but I don't think that you can Copyright a
    word unless it is a trademark or corporate symbol. Come to think of it, the Guy who invented the alphabet wrote
    everything,but he never got any Royalties...:)
  4. Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY
    Probably not.

You can't copyright a word or title. Copyright protects expression fixed in a tangible medium, which entails more than coming up with a single word.

You can trademark a word used in connection with goods and services, provided that the mark is fanciful (completely made up); arbitrary (an existing word tied to a completely unrelated product); descriptive, but having secondary meaning (ie. consumers associate the descriptive term with the purveyor of the good or service rather than a quality of the good or service itself).

A trademark user may allege infringement against another who uses an identical or similar mark, provided, inter alia, that the trademark owner actually has priority/ownership of the mark and a likelihood of confusion exists amongst consumers as to the origin of the accused goods or services.