1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Ovation Celebrity CC174 acoustic bass, any thoughts?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Prophet925, Mar 25, 2013.

1. Prophet925

Prophet925

Mar 25, 2013
    Hey guys, I've been reading stuff on this forum for a long while, and never made a profile until today. I've been playing guitar for about 11 years, just got into bass 2 years ago, and fell in love. I have an Ovation Celebrity CC174 for practicing, and I gigged with a '82 fretless American Jazz that my guitarist owned. I was just wondering if there was a lot of interest out there in these Ovation Celebrity series basses, because nobody seems to be biting on ebay or craigslist for them. Any thoughts from the experts (you guys, that is) on whether or not this thing can be moved? I've been trying to get together enough to buy my buddy's JBass and a new neck (fretless is nice sometimes, but I just want the standard J neck), and I'm getting really close but I'd like to sell this thing to clinch what I need to buy the dream bass. Let me know what you think, and thanks in advance you guys!

2. JollySpudd

JollySpudd Guest

Jul 17, 2013
    Thoughts? Here goes :)

I'm sure by now you worked this out with your Ovation, so I'm just posting since I own a CC174 - picked up at Music-Go-Round with a nice hard case for $100 just last fall. It was initially hard to find any online info about it, but after a month of digging, I amassed a fair amount. --- All that to say that, they don't seem as popular or generating much interest in general. However, I did find that they were only issued for 2 years ('95/'96) and that they initially retailed for about $700 (!!!) - the original case that came with mine ran over $200 retail - yikes! So for $100 I'm pretty happy.