1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Ovation Magnum 4 - repair, replace, or remove active electronics?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Colonel Monk, Jan 19, 2012.

1. Howdy all:

I got a call from my guitar tech awhile ago about this bass I bought a few months ago.

It needed a new nut and a setup to be playable, so I didn't really go over the bass at the time - it made sound but that was the extent of my testing....

Apparently all the wires to the Active Electrics are cut, and the pups have been wired direct to the output, bypassing everything.

So I'm curious, those of you with experience, is it worth pursuing a repair or does it make more sense just to go passive with a volume, blend, and tone?

I'm not too disappointed as I have no experience, I had played one before in a store and I liked the tone and feel and look of the bass which is why I bought one. So I'm not married to the original tone.

Probably though the original owner should have told me, and should have told me about the broken nut as well.. If I hadn't gotten it for such a low price I'd be way more bent out of shape...

Thanks

2. bongomania

bongomania Gold Supporting Member Commercial User

Oct 17, 2005
    PDX, OR
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    The original active EQ in that model was noisy. The previous owner probably chose to bypass it rather than replacing it because it's a graphic EQ, so the pickguard has holes for sliders rather than knobs. If it was me I'd have a new pickguard cut, whether staying passive or installing a new preamp.

3. Curmei

Curmei

Dec 29, 2008