1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Overly General Question: What amp should I get?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Sushi Box FX, Jul 31, 2020 at 11:43 AM.

1. Sushi Box FX

Sushi Box FX Commercial User

May 23, 2020
    California, USA
    Sushi Box FX, owner
    So let me preface this by saying I am not a bassist. I'm not even a guitarist, I'm actually a drummer. But I also build pedals, so that pushes a lot of my guitar/bass purchases.

I only recently found out how intensely bassist love their pedals, so I've been working on a bunch more designs, but it's made me realize that my bass rig is lacking, and it seems like a shame to test things on a sub-par rig. I don't know when it will happen, but at the very least I want to upgrade my head to a big-boy amp.

So right now I have a GK Backline 600 head running through a Peavey 210 cab. It sounds fine, but I know it could sound a lot better.

So the golden question: If I was your friend that knew nothing about bass but had $600 or so to spend on a head (new or used) what would you recommend?

2. wave rider

wave rider

Jan 5, 2005
    The BL600 is well regarded hereabouts, just saying.

New Quilter bass amp!

I am speculating that one of the Quilter products would be a good platform for your pedals. The BassBlock 800 is popular and a number of folks are using less powerful models designed for guitars to great effect.

Have fun, sounds fascinating!

Sushi Box FX likes this.
  3. Sushi Box FX

May 23, 2020
    California, USA
    Sushi Box FX, owner
    Thanks, that's relieving to hear. As a drummer and guitar enthusiast I got it 100% because I liked the way the distortion sounded :p

I tried a quilter guitar amp a few years ago and wasn't blown away by it, but I could see it being a good platform for bass. Thanks!

4. lfmn16

lfmn16 Supporting Member

Sep 21, 2011
    charles town, wv