Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Overwhelmed and frustrated

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by vegaas, Aug 7, 2002.

1. vegaas

vegaas

Nov 6, 2001
    Milwaukee
    Hey guys,
    I have been playing bass for about three years now. I have never taken a lesson, and everything I do is by ear.
    I play in a band, and we are pretty good. We are going into the studio next month to make a demo.
    Although I can learn and really jam on the songs my band does (both covers and some originals) I know that I can not improve to the point I want to be at, unless I start to learn theory.
    My problem is where to start. I have tried a couple of times, but just get very frustrated. I think I start to understand some of the basics when all of a sudden nodes, triads, circle of fifths and so on are mentioned. So I then think, I better start learning those as well, oh and I should learn to read music, and memorize a good number of scales, and learn chords, and so on.
    I can not tell you how overwhelming and frustrating it is. It gets to the point that I dont know where to start.
    Unfortunalty I am on tight budget as well as not alot of free time, so no, I can not go to a teacher.
    I have bought all kinds of books, and just started to go over to Libster.com.
    I guess this was mainly a rant, but could someone give me an idea of where to start, and then maybe where I should go from there?
    Thanks in advance for any help.
    Vegaas

2. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    I got that way about my own playing a few years back. Money was not an issue, but I didn't have TIME to take lessons from a teacher (or so I thought). Besides, I AM a teacher...shouldn't I just teach myself? And still, I stayed in my rut.