Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

OVERWHELMING DELEMA !

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by lobster_boy, Dec 30, 2001.

1. I have sorta told my band teacher that I would be happy to play DB in his band. I've only played a DB 3 times in my life, but I've been playing EB for 4 years. I will be the only string instrument in the band and I'm going to be considered the "string tuba". SO, I've been practicing w/ a bow and it sounds and feels like I'm killing a firepole w/ hack-saw! Do you trusted and superior DBists have any tips for me on bowing? I pretty much have my left hand on control from all the time playing a fretless 6-string bass. I will not be able to get a teacher for 2 months because of my teenage salary. ANY info would be very much appreciated.
    BTW: I will be playing with them in a week!

2. Umm.
    Abracadabra
    Please
    Practice
    Click your heals together and keep saying there's no place like home.

3. mchildree

mchildree Supporting Member

Sep 4, 2000
    AL/GA
    ...or...you COULD just be up-front with your teacher and let him know that you're a beginner. And make no mistake about it...an experienced EB player who picks up DB is just that...a beginner. It's a different instrument.

Maybe he knows that already and is giving you the opportunity to get started.

4. rablack

rablack

Mar 9, 2000
    Houston, Texas
    The magic words are of course "get a teacher", but you know that already. Bowing is basically impossible to teach online. "hold your wrist like this... no, less tension in the hand ... you're not bowing from the shoulder... " Get the idea.

There are few links on (All Hail) Bob Gollihur's website with pictures and explanations but nothing will take the place of a human being in the same room who can watch, listen and analyze.