1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Oy vey - I gave myself a hernia....

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by mikopita, May 3, 2010.

1. mikopita

mikopita Supporting Member

Feb 22, 2007
    Florida
    So, after years of hauling around old SVT's, V4's and 8x10's, I gave myself a hernia (inguinal). I had the repair surgery last week (full not laproscopic), and now have been presented an opportunity to play with a seriously tight, up and coming band.

The dilemma is that their next upcoming big gig where I really should be, is in 5 weeks. My doc says that I'll be ok to lift up to 20 lbs. by then, but recommends I go easy. I plan to.... but I'm wondering what I should expect and what I can get away with. I'm an active bassist and really groove physically (not crazy-like, but to feel the groove). I already will have help moving my gear.

Are there any folks who've gone through this (there have to be, I just couldn't find a single one in a search)? Should I plan to sit the entire gig? If so, will a barstool work to lean/sit on? Should I bag the gig and wait? They currently have a keyboard player holding down the bass... but this is definitely not what they want :smug: . Should I look into any special kind of strap or harness? Is there some kind of clothing I should consider wearing? I 'm just curious to see what kind of feedback I get.

2. Bryan R. Tyler

Bryan R. Tyler TalkBass: Usurping My Practice Time Since 2002 Staff Member Administrator Gold Supporting Member

May 3, 2002
    Connecticut