Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

P bass J bass comparison

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Amorphous, Jan 1, 2004.

1. Amorphous

Amorphous

Oct 31, 2003
    Hey everyone, now to start this post - I am a complete bass newbie, I've only ever played my friend's Fender Squier P-Bass.

With that said, I'm looking for music/sound clips of just jazz or precision basses(to compare the two). It would be great if they were the same brand, like SX J and P or Fender J and P..but just anything would help. I tried searching this forum but came up empty handed. The reason for me doing all this is I'm saving up for my first bass, and it will probably be an Essex from Rondomusic. I fell in love with the look of the SX - SJB 62 QMD Red model, but as it's a jazz bass, I don't really know what kind of sound it's going to produce, nor do I know what sound the Essex P basses will produce. I'm trying to learn all I can before I really need to choose one.

Many thanks,
    Morph :bassist:

2. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    The best way to learn about a bass is to play it!

it's unfortunate that essex basses, which are pretty darn good for the money, are not more readily available at big stores like GC, so that beginners, like yourself, could learn more before they buy.

that said.

GENERALLY speaking , Precision basses(P) have a fatter tone, fat,deep, and round. though they certainly can be versatile, they usually have a fat underbelly.

Jazz basses, generally have a sharper, more growly tone, with a lot of PUNCH. Again, there is a lot of room for adjustment, with different playing styles and equipment and what have you, but those are some of the basic characteristics.

While you are specifically asking for recordings, the overall question in your post is more of a 'which bass is right for me?' post.