P-Bass Slapping.. need advice

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by kebbs, Sep 21, 2005.

1. kebbs

kebbs Modus vivendi

Aug 30, 2005
    Ottawa, Canada
    Hello my fellow bassists,

I am sure that this question has been addressed before, but I am new to this forum. I would like to hear your advices/opinions regarding this:

I own a 1989 Peavey Fury (P-bass), made in US, which I upgraded with Seymour Duncan Quarter Pounders. These pick-ups have significantly improved my sound. I have been playing music for about 8 years; bass has been my main instrument for over 3 years. I mostly play rock (prog rock, funk rock), world/ethnic and and occasional lounge/ambient music.

I don't use a pick -- I am a hardcore fingerstyle bassist. To cut the long story short, I have neglected slapping all these years. I always found it a little bit intimidating, so to say.

Mu questions are:

1) Am I limited with my P-Bass in terms of slapping, and if so, by how much? Do I really need to buy a Stingray or a Jazz Bass in order to get a proper slap tone?

2) How does one go about learning to slap? I consider myself to be advanced intermediate in terms of the music I can play.

3) If I added a J-pick up on my current bass (I have already done a lot of work on my Peavey), would that provide me with a superior slapping sound?

I would appreaciate your comments and opinions on this matter.

2. Fuzzbass

Fuzzbass P5 with overdrive Supporting Member

The bass below is my #1, and I prefer its slap tone to the J-bass slap tone. That said:

1) Yes, you're limited: with a non-PJ P-bass you won't be able to get J-style slap sounds. But so what? ;)

2) I'm self-taught (and mediocre at best). I'd recommend a video or lessons from a good teacher.

3) Converting your P-bass to a PJ-bass would allow you to get slap tone similar to the J-bass slap tone. And really, that's the slap tone that most bassists prefer.