1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

P+J Pickups for CIJ Fender Aerodyne Bass suggestions for punk rock

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by ivrogne, Nov 8, 2018.

1. ivrogne

ivrogne

Feb 14, 2013
    Hello evryone!

Recently I got a used Aerodyne, and it needs a little upgrade/repair. Some parts are a little rusted, some a little creacked, like it was heavily used and kept far from ideal conditions.

I'm a total gear noob and know no poopie about tech specs, so I'd love to get some feedback, user experience and educated suggestions. Like brands (DiMirzio, Seimour or anything else), models, pros and cons of each.

From my experience, my bass is super powerful on e-string, but seems lacking a bit of attack on other strings, that have to be compensated by extra equalisation. But there isn't always such possibility for extra equalisation in some poopy clubs. Can I fix this by other pickups?

2. Gorn

Gorn

Dec 15, 2011
    Queens, NY
    Did you try adjusting the pickup height?

Pbassmanca likes this.
  3. ivrogne

ivrogne

Feb 14, 2013
    I thought about it, but I need new ones anyway, because they're cracked.

Pbassmanca likes this.
  4. Gorn

Gorn

Dec 15, 2011
    Queens, NY
    What’s cracked? The plastic covers?

5. ivrogne

ivrogne

Feb 14, 2013
    Yep.

6. 96tbird

96tbird PLEASE STAND BY Supporting Member

Sounds Perfect for punk.

Can’t call it (or yourself) punk if you’re going to get all choosey about cracks and rust. As long as it all works...

However, there’s no such thing as a real punk anymore, it’s all just posers, so buy new pickup covers, clean the bass up a bit and carry on.

jackn1202, ElGoodo and MTN.bass72 like this.
  7. ivrogne

ivrogne

Feb 14, 2013
    I asked for suggestions about pickup models, not about what punk is and isn't :)