Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

P Style

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Viviuos, Dec 29, 2004.

1. Viviuos

Viviuos

Jul 15, 2004
    Nehawka, Nebraska
    I am looking to replace my p-pups on my Ibanez gsr100. (I know its not a highly prized bass but its my first and if\when i get a new one i plan on defretting this one, so i would like to keep it in shape.) The origionals are Powersound P. I am looking for something with a little bit of growl and equal low/mid/high. If anybody has any suggestions feel free to inform me. I also used the search and found next to nothing. (I may have missed what i needed though) I am very new to pickups so i know almost nothing.

2. A9X

A9X

Dec 27, 2003
    Sinny, Oztraya
    Try a Dimarzio P, they're easily available new or secondhand for a modest price and if you don't like it, it'll be easy to onsell for little or no loss.

3. tigerotool

tigerotool

Sep 30, 2004
    i have the same bass. i replaced the pup with an active emg p pickup. it sounds great now.

4. Viviuos

Viviuos

Jul 15, 2004
    Nehawka, Nebraska
    What would it take to do that?
    I am am (well becoming, im still in school) an electronics technician. So soldering and wiring are no big deal.

5. Viviuos

Viviuos

Jul 15, 2004
    Nehawka, Nebraska
    I just looked at the emg website and i am wondering, dont active pickups have more then 2 nobs. I thought they had more then that or am i completly mistaken?

6. David Wilson

David Wilson Administrator Staff Member Administrator Supporting Member

Oct 14, 2002
    Lower Westchester, NY
    Not necessarily. There's a difference between active pickups and active preamps.
    You can have active pickups with just vol / tone controls, like the EMG diagram is showing you. If I'm installing active pickups, I'll generally put in an active preamp as well for maximum tonal versatility.