1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

PA mixer used as recording mixer?

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by bassmasta94, May 9, 2010.

1. bassmasta94

bassmasta94

Jul 21, 2009
    Connecticut
    Hey guys, I have a PA system with a nice mixer, and i dont really feel like spending a whole 100 dollars or more on a separate mixer. I was wondering if i could plug all the instruments into the PA either going DI from the amp, or a microphone for the horns, and then get one of those cables that goes from the Main Left and Right to a 1/4 cable.(Not sure what its called, im a total recording noob) And plug the 1/4 end into my audio interface, and then run that through garage band, and have each track set to a different input, and record all of the musicians simultaneously. I was wondering if this is even possible. And once again i know... Im a total noob when it comes to recording.

2. RustyAxe

RustyAxe

Jul 8, 2008
    Connecticut
    Gotta be more precise. Are you using a powered or passive PA mixer? What kind (make, model)? I use a Yamaha MG166cx for recording, and sometimes my Carvin RX1200R ... both are passive, of course.

3. Goodlawdy

Goodlawdy

Mar 27, 2008
    We made a demo doing this very thing into garageband. It's been good enough to get us gigs with. I ran everything into my pa then sent it to my laptop via the 1/8"!!

I tweaked the levels after each take, listening through headphones. It's a great quick way to record. I just did it into one track. Another good thing about this setup is the small file size.

4. Are you using a DAW software, such as Cubase or Protools to record into? because if so, you will have to make sure you get all your levels and panning (balance L+R) how you want them before recording, as you can't mix or edit anything as it would be recorded as one stereo track, not multiple tracks.