Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

PA vs. Bass rig for big rooms

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by thewanderer24, Feb 7, 2006.

1. thewanderer24

thewanderer24

Apr 29, 2002
    SJ, CA
    One of the bands I've been playing with for the last 6 months or so just got a booking agent that seems to be the real deal. He can book us into some big and hard to get into places.

In the past everytime I've played somewhere bigger than made sense for my Bergie HT-322, I'd have the house PA for support.

Some of the stuff that this guy is talking about booking us into are not only really big rooms, but would NOT have house PA support (i.e., we use ours). He came and saw us at a gig this past weekend, and commented that we need to have the bass pounding in the chest of the guy in the back of the big room the moment he walks through the door. And that we're not there right now.

The HT-322 is WONDERFUL, but now I apparently need more volume. The question is, is there a difference between the way PA speakers are made to "throw sound" to the back of the room, vs. a Bass cabinet? Would we get better results getting PA stuff to handle bass? or adding more bass cabinets for me to run myself?? Me thinks there is something about PA that makes more sense, but I don't know why or what we need.

I really want to hear your guys thoughts on this. The band leader is about to upgrade the PA, but he's waiting for some inputs from me on bass related stuff.

2. Fuzzhead

Fuzzhead

Sep 26, 2005
    Australia