Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Pain in left hand.

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by hibeam, Sep 26, 2005.

1. hibeam

hibeam

Oct 16, 2002
    USA
    I've been playing DB for about 10 months. I'm having a great time and feel like I'm finally getting past the base physical problems that I first encountered when I started playing.

But alas, the one thing that continues to haunt me is pain in my left hand, between my pointer finger and thumb. I asked the teacher I studied with over this past summer, he seemed to be under the impression that it was a matter of building up hand strength. I don't know if thats really the story, though. I also asked my other (far more knowledgable) teacher, and the best answer he could give me is that I need to discover for myself how to position the instrument and my left hand in particular in such a way that I don't experience this pain. I spent an hour today trying various hand positions, with the bass at slightly different places, and the endpin both higher and lower than I normally I play. I also try to relax my left hand as much as possible while maintaining as natural arm position as I can. I haven't really been able to find anything that works.

It is distracting at best, and prevents me from playing for too long at the worst. I can play through it most of the time, but I fear I am doing some damage that might catch up to me in the long term.

The setup on my bass isn't fantastic, but I'm going to get that taken care of fairly soon. The pain did seem to be slower to build on a well setup bass that I played, so perhaps its a combination of a few of the things I've mentioned.

If anybody can give my any advice regarding my problem, I'd be grateful.

Thanks all.

2. jallenbass

jallenbass Supporting Member Commercial User

May 17, 2005
    Bend, Oregon
    This is what works for me: