1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Painfull fingers... What am i doing wrong?!?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Frxns, Apr 3, 2013.

1. Frxns

Frxns

Mar 27, 2013
    Hi all, i'm new to playing bass. I've been playing for a couple of months now...
    Everything goes well, except for one thing..
    If i play on a rehearsal or at home for,a longer time i get this terrible pain in my fingertops on. Both hands ( only the fingers i use)
    It doesj't seem to go away even after couple of months...
    Maybe this is a silly or stupid topic but i want to know from experienced bass players if they had this problem too in their starting phase...
    What's the trick? Bite trough the pain? Do i have to play more to grow more hard skin on the tops? Am i doing it wrong, maybe i use a bad technique?

Thanks

2. fearceol

fearceol

Nov 14, 2006
    Ireland
    Just keep on playing, but dont over do it, or you will get blisters. Increase the playing time gradually and your fingers will harden up. Make sure that you are not pressing down unnecessarily hard on the strings when you fret. As far as the plucking fingers are concerned, try to play with a light touch. If you need volume, rather than play harder, use the amp's volume knob.

3. Nashrakh

Nashrakh

Aug 16, 2008
    Hamburg, Germany
    Good points so far, I would add that a good setup goes a long way.

You don't need a lot of pressure in your fretting hand if the action is set properly - last rehearsal I let our singer play my axe and she always looked like she was wrestling with the thing until I told her that beyond a certain point at which the string makes contact with the fret and sounds clearly, energy is wasted.