painting/decaling my pickguard.

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by spambot772, Feb 14, 2009.

1. spambot772

spambot772

Aug 31, 2007
    hey guys, i recently got a lakland skyline jobo 5 in natural ash, and while its a beautiful bass, i thought id step it up and customize the pickguard.

i have a friend who is wicked at art and he's gonna make a design, but i have no idea how to get the design onto my PG. (without it chipping/rubbing off, hoping to have to last 30-40 years)

is there a way to do it then add a clear coat of something to protect it?

any ideas?

thanks a ton!

2. mikeyswood

mikeyswood Inactive

Jul 22, 2007
    Cincinnati OH
    Luthier of Michael Wayne Instruments
    Yes. Spray a clear coat over the art.

3. hbarcat

hbarcat Supporting Member

Aug 24, 2006
    Rochelle, Illinois
    I'm a professional painter and I also have experience clear-coating my own basses as well as the basses and guitars of others. Some information you should know to before you decide how best to proceed:

First, you will definitely need to apply the artwork and then clear over it, but there are multiple ways of doing this. Just using a spray can (the kind you shake with the rattling ball inside) is not the best way to do this although it's the cheapest and easiest. It's not likely to adhere to the pickguard material very well and will also not be flexible so that over time it will crack and peel and look like crap. It also won't look all that great to start with because the finish from the rattle cans usually "orange peels" and looks uneven.