Painting picture on parts of bass at a time.

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by john keates, Feb 7, 2005.

1. john keates

john keates

May 20, 2004
    I am an artist and I play an old beaten up Yamaha TRB5. I like the aged and battered look of it but I have never been keen on the orange finish. I am thinking that it would be nice to paint the thing with doodles. I expect that such a painting would take a time but it is my only bass and I can't go without playing it for long.

How long would it take to sand the finish off?

Would a base cote of white acrylic paint be enough for a temporary cote whilst I paint it or would it let moisture in?

Would it be possible to sand and then paint it section by section? I don't mind it looking a little patchy. Actully, I was thinking of leaving the orange on in places. As I say, I don't mind it looking a bit crap - I am going for character here.

Thanks for any help.
  2. Taking off the finish shouldn't take too long. Refinishing is what will eat up your time.
  3. Rvl

Dec 23, 2003
    Aomori Japan
    I would recommend using paint pens or model paint or airbrush and then putting a clear polyester top coat on
    Prepare the bass first by roughing up the paint with sandpaper

Attached Files: